Yes.

It’s Friday. Today’s FW thoughts:

1) Donald Barthelme’s “After Joyce” (in Not-Knowing); Joycean musicality in Barthelme’s novel, The Dead Father.

2) Marshall McLuhan’s FW quotes and Joyce discussions in War and Peace in the Global Village. Prankquean’s “Clothing As Weaponry.” Also, “Marshall McLuhan and James Joyce: Beyond Media” by Donald and Joan Theall.

3) Norman O. Brown, Apocalypse and/or Metamorphoses and Love’s Body. I remember the night I discovered Apocalypse, via Branwynne, who rang me up that evening, 12 years ago at C.U and said, “You have to see something. Come over” [paraphrased]. I was 19 years old. We sat in her room and perused his essays, specifically, “Daphne and/or Metamorphoses.” The bizarre chapter break flourishes. She asked, “Have you seen anything like it?” I sighed, “No.” But anyway, this work changed my life w/r/t Joyce and beyond.

4) I need to find my notes for Michael Seidel‘s C.U. class, “Joyce and His Contemporaries [Woolf and Beckett].” I took it in 1995, and just found out via this article, that Seidel offered an FW seminar at Columbia in 2001.

5) I ordered Tindall on Amazon today and should get Ellman [I link to this music Joyce site (which cites the Ellman biography) because it’s amazing] and McHugh out of storage.

6) Totally unrelated: my favorite future novelist Elif Batuman has a new article in the LRB and issue 7 of n+1.

7) ReJoyce: I miss Paris and Bloomsday 2008.

Here’s my Circe route in the Marais area:

Leave a comment

Filed under Criticism, FW, James Joyce, Real Life, Ulysses

Leave a Reply

