O Death!

Virginia Woolf to Sydney Schiff on Jan. 15, 1922,

“About Joyce, and my endeavour to be doubly fair to him because I have been perhaps unfair and captious. Oh, I can’t get over a great great deal. I can’t get over the feeling of wet linoleum and unemptied pails and far worse horrors in the house of his mind–He’s so terribly unfein; that’s what it amounts to. There is a tremendously strong impulse in me to beg him not to shock me!”

(The Letters of Katherine Mansfield, ed. J. Middleton Murry (London, 1928), vol. II, p. 173.)

*

I came across this gem while reviewing Ellman’s biography. On Saturday, B. and I see The Waves at Lincoln Center. Here’s an e-trailer of the production.

Leave a comment

Filed under James Joyce, Real Life

Leave a Reply

